top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatie (Butcher) Brandt

Why Crochet?


In thinking about this next blog post, I wasn't sure exactly what to write about. But, a LOT has happened (well, in terms of how I view my crocheting, anyway) since the last post.


People have started requesting to buy things, and I got to thinking... maybe other people would buy my stuff too! Maybe other people want to follow what I'm doing and what I'm creating! So......


I decided to pursue having my own handmade business!
My business cards! I made it official :)

I have gotten to know a lot of wonderful makers in the crochet and fiber arts community in just the short amount of time since I started, and they have inspired me so much and motivated me to make more people happy and cozy with the things I crochet.


Looking back, I would never have guessed I would become so obsessed with crocheting... let alone that it would make me want my own business. So, with that in mind, I thought I would tell you a little about myself and why I crochet. Hopefully you will be inspired to crochet yourself, or if you already do, hopefully you'll get where I'm coming from!

Grandma and I rocking our matching Peacock shirts! The first one she made fit me perfectly, so she made another and now we match :)

The fiber arts have always been a part of my family. My grandma knits, crochets, and sews (she made almost all my Halloween costumes!). Growing up, I was always around her while she was working on projects. She has a tin in her sewing room full of buttons, and I LOVED playing with them. The way they felt, looked, and smelled (yes, old buttons have a smell... haha) was so fun, and soon I was making button necklaces! As I got older (9-12 maybe?) I graduated to making things with yarn and canvas. I played by making designs with the yarn on the canvas, and practicing cross stitch. Finally, I decided I wanted to learn how to crochet and knit. Grandma taught me the basics, and I spent some summers practicing stitches, but the hobby got left behind as I entered high school and college, distracted by other things.


Fast forward to grad school....


Stress stress stress!! Lots of it, and no end in sight. Lots of assignments, and lots of thinking. My brain was tired! So, the idea of crochet came back into my mind. I happened to be at JoAnn's one day buying something for a school project, and I saw some yarn on clearance. "It must be a sign!" I thought (well, maybe not that dramatically... but it did spark my interest!). I bought the yarn, and my first set of hooks, and went straight home to get to work. There was a slight problem, though... Grandma still lives in Pittsburgh, and at the time, I was living in Georgia! How would she reteach me from so far away??


Enter the savior of all DIY people... YOUTUBE! I talked with my grandma of course, but YouTube videos became my first foray into learning how to crochet again. I started with simplydaisy's video, "How to Crochet for Absolute Beginners: Part 1". If you've never crocheted before, this is a GREAT place to start. She is clear and concise, and has great visuals so you can see what she is doing.

It was easy to re-learn. I quickly remembered the basics.

But I also noticed that I had bigger goals. Like I talked about in my previous blog post, I wanted to make a sweater. I wanted (and still want) to make things that I will wear, and enjoy wearing, and be proud of! Nothing against scarves, but they can get kind of old. Plus, there are so many more things you can make!


I started with ear warmers (which everyone got for Christmas that year...), and kept getting more and more motivated! Pinterest was my best friend. I learned new stitches, made a pillow for our couch, hats for my husband, and eventually my first sweater (pictured below)!

A big achievement! It was so awesome to see something come together and actually be able to wear it!

In addition to decreasing my stress levels, crocheting has brought so much joy to my life!

Some of the top reasons I crochet?

1. It reintroduced a hobby I love into my life.


2. I have found a way to bring joy (and style and warmth) to the people I love, and now other people too!


3. It has inspired me to be an ENTREPRENEUR, and create my own business!


With that being said, I would like to invite you to start crocheting (or knitting)! You might not decide to make a business out of it, but you will get so many of the same benefits!

There is something indescribable about making something by hand and seeing it come to fruition.

There are so many articles on the benefits of crocheting, and it is actually considered a mindfulness activity! All Free Crochet has a great article titled, "7 Surprising Health Benefits of Crocheting." Some of them include helping insomnia, reducing anxiety and depression, and reducing the risk of Alzheimer's by 30-50%!! That is huge!! There is also (like I mentioned at the beginning of this post) a WONDERFUL community of women and men on Instagram and Facebook who support each other in their crocheting endeavors. Even if you aren't business-focused, it can be fun to share your makes with other people who truly appreciate the hard work you've put in! A good Facebook group is "Hooked on Homemade," and you can search #crochetersofinstagram to find friends on Instagram :)


If my story resonated with you and you want to get closer with family members, or if you are looking for a way to deal with stress and focus on self-care a bit more, grab some yarn, a hook, and a cup of tea or coffee, and get ready to relax!


I hope you liked learning a little about why I crochet, and why you should too.


Comment below if you have ever made anything by hand before! :)


Love you!


- Katie



20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page