top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatie (Butcher) Brandt

My First Sweater...


Hi everyone!


I hope wherever you are, you are starting to thaw out. They say Spring is just around the corner, but in Fort Wayne, we're still bundling up against the blustery winds and chilly mornings. I thought now would be the perfect time to tell you what it was like making my first handmade sweater!

Coffee + Cozy Sweater = Ready to attack the day!

When I first started crocheting, making a garment like a sweater was one of my biggest goals. But I ran into two problems:

1) I didn't think I had enough experience to make a whole sweater.

2) All the patterns I found looked chunky, plain, and not really fashionable (I did make one sweater before the one I'm writing about now, but it was all of the things I just mentioned, so I don't count it, haha).


So, I put that dream to the side. I worked on smaller projects like ear warmers, coffee cozies, and hats. I got better and more confident in my skills as a maker. Plus, everyone in my family got some great Christmas gifts! :)


At the same time, my now-husband Mike and I were planning our wedding and honeymoon. We had decided to fulfill a life long dream and go to New Zealand (yes, we are Lord of the Rings fans).


We decided on the main activities we wanted to do, and also decided that we wanted to use AirBnb to stay on a farm in Cambridge, New Zealand.


It's a really cute little farm town in the Waikato region of New Zealand near Matamata, where Hobbiton is. Also, it has loads of rolling hills, lush green pastures, and SHEEP. Turns out, New Zealand is really famous for their sheep. And in addition to little sheepies being really tasty, they also make WOOL. Which makes YARN... see where I'm going here?


As these thoughts came together in my head, I realized the time had come to make my sweater. I would find a yarn shop in New Zealand, get some New Zealand sheep yarn, and make a sweater with said yarn. That was pretty much the best souvenir I could think of.


Fast forward to mid-October, 2018. We were in Cambridge, New Zealand, walking around the town center, and I saw it. The shop where I would purchase the yarn for my sweater, "edie and co."


It sounds silly, but picking the yarn was so tough! I already have a hard time making decisions as it is, but this was really important to me! This sweater would represent the culmination of a lot of work in a hobby I love, as well as one of the most wonderful times in my life to date; my wedding and honeymoon. I wanted to really wear the sweater (which I do, all the time). I also wanted the sweater to transport me back to the best moments of our stay in New Zealand (which it does). I am so happy I chose to challenge myself, because I ended up with something I am extremely proud of, as well as a wonderful piece of memorabilia.


I'm gonna be honest, I impressed myself! I am more motivated than ever to keep making things!

Ok, so if you just wanted to hear my first sweater story, you can stop reading...


BUT, if you also crochet and/or knit, and are interested in making this sweater too, you can read below for my review of the Demelza Pullover (click the link to see the pattern!).


I chose my yarn before I chose the pattern. Some might say this is risky, but I didn't want to limit myself, and I also had no clue what kind of yarn they would have in New Zealand. I ended up going with Countrywide Yarns Natural 8 Ply DK in Shade 1102.


I loved the subtle color, and the grey/ white duo was soft and neutral, which I wanted. I wanted to be able to wear my sweater with anything!


Of course I spent a lot of time on Pinterest looking at tons of sweaters for the perfect pattern. One of the reasons I picked the Demelza Pullover was the trail stitch on the front and back; it stood out from all the other sweaters, and added a modern, chic texture to a relatively simple garment. Also, I'm a huge fan of 3/4 length sleeves :)


Now onto the review. I loved this pattern. Especially for a first sweater, the Demelza Pullover pattern was challenging enough but also easy to put together. It was originally a Crochet-Along, so each section of the sweater is clearly divided, and directions are very clear.


Another plus? The sizing chart is spot on. So, if you have accurate measurements, the sweater will fit perfectly (I will say I did crochet a couple of test squares before diving in to make sure my gauge was right). I did use a lighter weight yarn than originally suggested, but this did not alter the fit for me. In fact, I really like the way it drapes; it isn't stiff at all, and it is SO surprisingly warm for how lightweight it is.


If you read ahead like me, the split for the neck in the front and back can seem a bit confusing, but once you are in the midst of it, the pattern flows easily and is pretty intuitive. Everything came together so smoothly, I'm not sure if it's just that great of a pattern, or I really have improved that much.



Highlights

  • I learned two new stitches! The Trail Stitch (on the front and back of the sweater), and the Mattress Stitch (used to sew the sleeves on). My husband can attest to how excited I got when attaching the sleeves, lol. The Mattress Stitch is practically magic! It looks seamless, and really gives a professional look and feel to the garment.

  • I gained a lot of confidence. The sweater turned out so beautifully, that it only furthered my obsession with crocheting, and making things by hand. I feel like I have the experience and ability to make anything I set my mind to!

  • I have a memento that will last forever. Yes, this is a super comfy, super warm staple in my closet now, but it is also a reminder of what an amazing country New Zealand is, how wonderful the people are, and most of all, who I got to share it with: My husband. You can't buy that!



If you made it this far, THANK YOU! I've got some really big announcements coming, so stay tuned!




33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page