top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatie (Butcher) Brandt

Starting a business is hard? Who knew???


In my last post I wrote about how I will be starting my Etsy shop soon, how I got business cards, and how I am making it official. While that sounds all hunky dory, the process of doing all those things is really quite daunting.


Crocheted coffee cozies made in a coffee shop on a Saturday afternoon.
This is what my Saturday afternoon looked like last week. That pile grew and grew, too. Working in a coffee shop, crocheting the day away! That is the fun part, the business stuff, not so much...

I feel like I need to get everything accomplished right away, all at once. I've even taken the time to make a timeline for myself so I don't feel rushed, but I still get that antsy feeling like I'm not doing things quick enough.


What's your take? Are you more of a "jump in with both feet" kinda gal, or do you prefer to plan things and play it safe? What do you think works better? I would love to know (seriously, please give me advice!).


The other thing I've noticed is that I am so incredibly passionate about starting this business I find it hard to focus when I am doing other tasks. BUT, when I sit down to actually work on the business, I end up procrastinating... what?! How can something be bouncing around in my mind constantly, and then when I actually get time to devote to it, it's like a desert up there? Guess it doesn't matter how excited you are about something, it can still be difficult to get the gears moving sometimes...



Hip girl wearing a handmade crocheted head wrap in the spring time.
Here I am pretending I've got it all together, while actually I had to crochet like a madwoman to finish this head wrap before the sun set so I could get pictures of it!

All that being said, I have had a pretty productive week. Maybe I didn't get everything done in the exact order I wanted to, but I got it done. I am quickly realizing that my orderly, rule-driven mind has to take a back seat sometimes. Especially when I am creating something new and original, there is no right way of doing things (even thinking that drives me up a wall, but it's true!). Plans change, and as a business owner (that sounds weird to say) I have to go with the flow.


So, this post is serving as a reminder to myself, and maybe to you. It is ok to not accomplish everything on our list, the world will not end, and we will still be successful even if it takes a little longer to get there. I think we all need that reminder once and a while. Maybe you are just trying to make it to the gym during the week, or eat healthier, or spend less time on your phone. Whatever it is, know that every little step is helping you achieve your goals. So even if you don't make it to the gym one day, or eat M&M's when you said you wouldn't(I just did... oops!), let it go and try again the next day.


I know this is hard because I struggle with it everyday! But if we learn to be nicer to ourselves, then we can celebrate the the steps we're taking towards accomplishing our goals, rather than dwelling on what we have yet to do.



Have a wonderful week!

- Katie



22 views0 comments
bottom of page